Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are once again the favourites to win the Ballon d’Or after the 23-man shortlist for the prize was revealed on Tuesday.

The award, which is ultimately decided by the captains and head coaches of national teams as well as media representatives, will be presented to the player considered to be the best performer in the calendar year.

Even though its a long list below… the showdown is always Messi and Ronaldo. Messi won the Treble last season, Ronaldo well, was the highest goal scorer in Europe.

The ceremony will take place on January 11 2016 in Zurich.

23-man shortlist in full:
Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal)
Sergio Aguero (Manchester City/Argentina)
Gareth Bale (Real Madrid/Wales)
Karim Benzema (Real Madrid/France)
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/Belgium)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Belgium)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain/Sweden)
Andres Iniesta (Barcelona/Spain)
Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/Germany)
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland)
Javier Mascherano (Barcelona/Argentina)
Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich/Germany)
Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/Germany)
Neymar (Barcelona/Brazil)
Paul Pogba (Juventus/France)
Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona/Croatia)
Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich/Netherlands)
James Rodriguez (Real Madrid/Colombia)
Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal/Chile)
Luis Suarez (Barcelona/Uruguay)
Yaya Toure (Manchester City/Ivory Coast)
Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich/Chile)